Turmoil and Love

Name: 15, Park Avenue
Language: Hindi/English
Year: 2005
Direction: Aparna Sen
Cast: Konkona Sen Sharma, Shabana Azmi, Soumitra Chatterjee, Waheeda Rehman, Dhritiman Chatterjee, Rahul Bose, Kanwaljeet Singh, Shefali Shah

Its been just a few minutes since I got out of the movie hall. They were airing 15 Park Avenue in there. I was looking forward to watching it alone, but found someone who would have made ideal company for the film. I dont know how to review this one. In fact, I am not attempting to.

On my way back, with the chilly breeze on my face, with the panting rickshaw puller cycling in front of me, all that kept ringing in my head was what Shefali Shah mouths in the movie – that we are all looking for something that isn’t really there.

I guess this really is one movie that you will keep recommending people to watch, at least for a few days. This is one movie that will make you scroll through your address book on your cell phone, looking for the right people to recommend it to. This is one movie where you go, “masha-allah!” about Konkona-Aparna-Shabana-Rahul team’s power performance.

Too many things are floating in my little head at the moment. I guess the movie will take time sink.

Schizophrenia, unreal reality, insane sanity, violation of beings, sensitivity, love over barriers yet succumbing to realities… I don’t know how they managed to pack all this into one single movie. Poignant.

Then there is the love (whether real or imaginary) between the characters played by Rahul Bose and Konkona Sen. He walks out on her just when she needs him the most, admitting that he is not man enough. Yet, years later, he comes into her life again. she doesnt remember who he is. And she makes him her confidante! Trust of the highest degree. What more can lovers ask of each other??

Reminded me of something I read not so long ago… about a mad man who wandered about holding his bleeding ear in his palm, for the woman he loved. All for love, he said.

Leave a comment

Filed under Movies

Leave a Reply

